Crock Pot Lasagna Soup

photo-7

I love lasagna but hate taking the time to assemble it. This soup entails all the traditional flavors of lasagna in a less traditional way. I tried a similar recipe last year but I think I prefer this crock pot version. It is easy to throw together, very nutritious, and it can feed a small army!

That is a huge crock pot and it is FULL! Be ready for leftovers! :)

I learned something INCREDIBLE via experimenting with this soup: you do NOT have to brown the ground turkey before you add it to your soup!

“What?!” “No way.” “This girl must be crazy.” “How is that possible?”

I bet all of those phrases just went through your mind. I know that was my initial reaction! But yes, it is true…to save yourself an extra 10 minutes and dirty pan to wash, all you have to do is crumble the ground meat directly into the crock pot. It cooked perfectly!! I will definitely be doing this from now on.

photo-6

This soup seems to be very versatile and you can easily adapt it to what you have in your pantry. For example, I was out of tomato paste so I used tomato sauce. I didn’t have beef broth so I used chicken broth. The original recipe called for V8 (who has that in their pantry? I never do!), so I used my favorite marinara sauce. The end result was fantastic!

Crock Pot Lasagna Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1.25 lb 99% fat free ground turkey (or you can use ground beef if you’d prefer!)
  • 4 cups low sodium chicken broth
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 28 oz can crushed tomatoes with basil (I love tuttorosso!)
  • 1 cup prepared pasta sauce
  • 1 8 oz can no salt added tomato sauce
  • 4-5 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 Tbsp dried parsley
  • 1 Tbsp dried basil
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1-2 tsp salt and pepper
  • 2 cups uncooked small pasta (like elbow or shell…I used whole wheat)
  • Optional: 2 bay leaves and 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes for added flavor!
  • For (not so optional) topping: 1 Tbsp part-skim ricotta, 1-2 Tbsp part-skim shredded mozzarella cheese

Directions:

1). Mix together the tomato sauce, crushed tomatoes, broth, garlic, onion, basil, parsley, and pasta sauce in the crock pot.

2). Crumble ground turkey into the soup (or you can cook it before you add it, but it will turn out perfectly fine this way too!)

3). Cover and cook on LOW 7-8 hours or HIGH 4-5 hours.

4). About 20-30 minutes before ready to serve, add the 2 cups of uncooked pasta and 1 cup of water. Stir to combine. Place lid back on and let the pasta cook for about 30 minutes.

*If you let the soup go too long with the pasta in it the pasta will get over cooked. Just keep an eye on it!*

5) Ladle 1 cup portions in to bowls and top with ricotta and mozzarella cheese, if desired.

This soup was high in protein and low in fat, which will keep you full for a long time. My husband usually doesn’t consider soup a “meal” but that wasn’t the case with this soup! Try it and let me know what you think!

Servings: 13. Serving size: 1 cup.
Nutritional Information Per 1 Cup Serving: Calories: 178 Carbs: 22 g Fat: 3 g Protein: 15 g Sugar: 7 g Sodium: 362. 

Recipe adapted from http://www.familyfreshmeals.com/2012/11/slow-cooker-crockpot-lasagna-soup.html.

3 thoughts on “Crock Pot Lasagna Soup

  1. Delicious! The mozzarella on top made it to die for!!! We will be making this dish more often !!! Thanks Audrey!!! Robyn 3/4/13

Leave a Reply

