Crock Pot Balsamic Roast Beef

“This is the best roast beef I’ve ever had,” my husband said as he took another bite of his sandwich.

photo-2

What bigger compliment could I want?! I definitely think this roast beef stands out as being unique and slightly tangy due to the balsamic vinegar addition. I had a chuck roast sitting in the freezer for a few weeks since i only had used half for a previous meal, and I was so intrigued when I found this recipe. It took about 5 minutes to put mix everything together and the crock pot ensured the end result was tender and delicious. I used the kitchen aid mixer trick I wrote about in a previous post to shred the roast, but two forks works just as well.

photo-3

What I loved about this recipe is that it is so versatile. My husband wanted to eat it as a french dip sandwich, so I cut a roll in half (but not all the way…leaving one edge uncut helps keep the sandwich together), melted swiss cheese on top, and he dipped it into some of the leftover gravy. I chose to eat it plain on top of quinoa with some of the gravy poured over top for added flavor. Another night we had it alongside the skinny garlic mashed potatoes and I posted recently, with the gravy on top of the potatoes. All of those ways were amazing and I’m sure there are more options we haven’t explored yet! I may never make a roast beef any other way ever again!

Crock Pot Balsamic Roast Beef

Ingredients:

  • 2 lb chuck roast
  • 1 cup reduced-sodium beef broth
  • 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1 Tablespoon worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tablespoon reduced sodium soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 4 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • salt and pepper

1. Spray your crock pot with pam (thank you, Robyn, for that time saving tip!!). Season the roast on both sides with salt and pepper. Place the roast in the crock pot.

2. In a 2 cup measuring cup, mix the remaining ingredients together. Pour over roast. Cook on low for 6-8 hours.

3. Once roast beef has cooked, remove it and shred the meat. Mix with about 1/2 cup of gravy to add flavor. Serve with leftover gravy on the side.

4. Store remaining gravy in an air tight container in the fridge for another use.

Serves: about 4. Nutritional information per serving: Calories: 256 Fat: 5g Carbs: 12g Protein: 39g Sugar: 9g

Recipe adapted from: http://addapinch.com/cooking/2012/10/25/balsamic-roast-beef-recipe/

5 thoughts on “Crock Pot Balsamic Roast Beef

  1. This is the most amazing roast I have ever had in my life! (I’m 49 and mom is a gourmet cook).
    I’ve never been a good cook.. but WOWZA! Thank you very much! The aroma this gives off cooking is tremendously delicious and it’s hard to wait for the finished product. AMAZING!

  2. This is in the crock as I type. This as a really great aroma to it. It is ready to shred! I couldn’t resist a taste. This is really good. Different than my usual but a keeper! Thank you for a wonderful recipe! =) I used an Elk roast as that is what I had on hand. That is the only change I made.

  3. Pingback: Easy Crock Pot French Dip Sandwiches. | Audrey's Apron

Leave a Reply

