Baked Greek Chicken Breast

I love Mediterranean food.

Perhaps it has to do with my time living abroad in Spain eating chicken schwarma regularly, or maybe because I grew up eating Mediterranean inspired meals at home, but either way I find it delightful. Did you know that Mediterranean cuisine is deemed one of the healthiest in the world? It’s true!

I recently posted a recipe for homemade tzatziki sauce and a Greek-flavored couscous salad. Today’s recipe goes with both perfectly!

IMG_20130325_194045

I drastically cut back the amount of olive oil used in the marinade. The original recipe called for 2 tbsp, but I only used 2 tsp and I thought it was plenty.  The rest of the marinade was easy and wonderful. Lemon juice and red wine vinegar help tenderize the chicken as it marinades, while the garlic and oregano add the Mediterranean flavor I love so much. After marinating for hours, the chicken then is baked for 30 minutes. Dinner in 30 minutes?! Check.

IMG_20130325_194525

I chose to create a Greek salad and used the tzatziki sauce I mentioned earlier as a dressing. Talk about flavorful-wow! And so light! Alternatively, you can serve this on pita and make a gyro, or along a side dish of your choice. Either way, this chicken is definitely a keeper!

In the summer I would love to throw this chicken on the grill instead of baking it in the oven. It would be great as kebabs, too! If you try it, let me know!

*This recipe is gluten free! I added a new gluten free category off to the side because I received some requests!*

Baked Greek Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 1.5-2 lbs chicken breasts/tenderloins, cut into 1 inch pieces
  • 2 tsp red wine vinegar
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp dried oregano
  • 4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • the juice of half a lemon
  • salt
  • pepper

1. Combine all ingredients together in a ziplock bag. Mix well and allow chicken to marinate for at least 1-2 hours.

2. Preheat oven to 350F (you could also cook the chicken on a grill pan). Place chicken in a single layer in a pyrex dish sprayed with cooking spray and bake for 30 minutes.

3. Serve on top of a salad, along this cool couscous salad or as a gyro with tzatziki sauce. Enjoy!

 

Servings: About 6. Nutritional Information per Serving: Calories: 154 Fat: 6g Carbs: 1g Protein:32g Sodium: 500mg before added salt

Adapted from ellysaysopa.com 

 

One thought on “Baked Greek Chicken Breast

  1. Pingback: The Best of Audrey’s Apron in 2013: The 10 Most Popular Recipes! | Audrey's Apron

Leave a Reply

