Skinny Blueberry Banana Muffins

IMG_20130525_102801Schools are out and summer is officially here! One of my favorite aspects of summer is all the fresh produce in the grocery store/farmer’s markets, including blueberries! Fresh blueberries are they key to making these muffins great (but frozen blueberries work too…they’re just not as tasty!). Did I mention I can get my husband to eat any fruit if I put it in muffin form? It’s true. Blueberries and bananas would never be tasted, unless baked in muffin or bread form. I used only white whole wheat flour in the batter to add nutrients and give these muffins staying power. They are surprisingly filling!! Each one is around 111 calories and can definitely tie you over until lunch, or be a sweet afternoon snack. I personally enjoyed them on our screen porch with a cup of coffee. Lovely!

IMG_20130525_102627I usually use applesauce as a substitute for oil or butter, but these muffins called for yogurt. Greek yogurt or regular yogurt both work perfectly. Substituting yogurt is a great trick to keep in mind for future baking! It keeps baked goods moist and adds protein without adding fat.

The next time you buy blueberries at the store, save some to make these muffins. They are fantastic!

Skinny Blueberry Banana Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 2 and 1/2 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar, loosely packed (or dark brown sugar)
  • 1 cup mashed very ripe banana (about 2 large very ripe bananas)
  • 1/4 cup nonfat vanilla Greek yogurt (or any yogurt)
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup skim milk (almond milk, soy milk, rice milk)
  • 1 and 1/4 cup fresh or frozen blueberries

1). Preheat oven to 325F. Line muffin tins with foil liners or spray pan with cooking spray (paper liners will stick!).

2). In a large bowl, mix the flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon together. Set aside.

3). In a medium bowl, mash the bananas until no longer lumpy. Add honey and mix. Add yogurt, egg, vanilla exctract, and brown sugar. Mix until well combined.

4). Slowly pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients. Gently fold them all together (it will be very thick!). Slowly add the milk while mixing the batter to thin it out some. Gently fold in the blueberries. Be careful not to overmix the batter.

5). Fill each muffin cup 2/3 full and bake for 22 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Oven times will vary so keep an eye on them! Transfer them to a wire rack and allow muffins to cool before serving.

Servings: 16.

Nutritional Information per Muffin: Calories: 111 Carbs: 25g Fat: 1g Protein: 3g Sugar: 14g Fiber: 2g

WW PointsPlus: 3 Old Points: 2

Recipe adapted from: http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2013/03/17/skinny-banana-blueberry-muffins/ 

8 thoughts on “Skinny Blueberry Banana Muffins

  1. hm… last i looked in the refrigerator, I had an over ripe banana and plenty of blueberries. And yogurt. There’s always flour and brown sugar in the house. So… no excuses.🙂 There’s muffins for tomorrow.

  2. Just made these! Turned out perfectly. Only had 3/4 c. of blueberries, and next time I’ll definitely add the whole amount. The bites without the blueberries were a tad bland, so that’s why I’ll make sure I have enough next time! The blueberries make this recipe – even used frozen and it was still yummy! And I love how healthy it is. It tasted healthy without tasting “healthy” if you know what I mean!😉 Thanks for the great recipe!

    • Hi Jenni! Thanks so much for your comment! I’m so glad the muffins turned out well for you and that you enjoyed them! I definitely agree with you about them being healthy without tasting that way. Those are my favorite kind of baked goods🙂 Thanks again!

  3. I just picked 10 pounds of Blue Crop blueberries today. I made Giada’s Blueberry Banana Bread and am eating some right now with a cup of orange Tazo tea. Yum!! Now I wish I’d found yours. I did substitute the flour for spelt flour for less gluten. I should try your with the yogurt next time. I’ve made Pioneer Woman’s blueberry muffins using yogurt and LOVED them. I am trying to lose weight though. I’m going to print it off. The ones in your picture look like perfect muffins. I hate those muffins that are short, yours have great shape.

  4. Pingback: The Best of Audrey’s Apron in 2013: The 10 Most Popular Recipes! | Audrey's Apron

  5. Pingback: Blueberry Muffins with Raspberry Swirls. | Audrey's Apron

Leave a Reply

