Blue Cheese and Cheddar Baked Sweet Potato Rounds

IMG_20130617_191403

Blue cheese lovers, you are going to be amazed at how yummy these baked sweet potato rounds are! The texture is a cross between sweet potato chips (crisp) and sweet potato fries (crunchy on the outside but soft in the middle). You can actually decide if you want them more like chips or fries by varying the baking time. I came across this recipe on Pinterest just a couple hours before I need to prepare dinner, and I quickly realized A) they look amazing and B) I already had everything I needed to make them!

If you do not like blue cheese, I recommend substituting a different cheese. I actually think feta could pair nicely, but I haven’t tried that option yet! If you have any other ideas, let me know.

The key to getting these sweet potatoes crispy is to spread them out on one layer, so no rounds are overlapping. I had to use 2 baking sheets for 2 potatoes. Keep an eye on them as some may crisp up faster than others, and you may need to pull a few off early to avoid burning. Crispy is good, but not burnt to a crisp!

I used my chef knife to cut the potato into thin rounds, but you can use a mandolin if you feel comfortable with one. I’ve mentioned this before, but that is probably the most dangerous kitchen gadget ever! I had a pretty gruesome encounter with one a couple years ago, so now I prefer to simply use my big ol’ chef knife!

IMG_20130617_192814

This side dish was surprisingly easy to prepare, and so delicious. The blue cheese gave the sweet potatoes a bit of a kick, and the cheddar was the perfect accompaniment! They honestly reminded me of nachos, with sweet potatoes in lieu of chips. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed them and I hope you will, too!

Blue Cheese and Cheddar Baked Sweet Potato Rounds

Ingredients:

  • 2 sweet potatoes
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • sea salt and freshly cracked pepper
  • 1/2 garlic powder
  • 3 tbsp crumbled blue cheese
  • 1/4 cup reduced fat cheddar cheese, shredded

1) Preheat oven to 425.

2) Slice sweet potato into thin round discs (using a knife or mandolin).

3) Toss with oil and season with garlic powder & salt and pepper.

4) Spread out on a baking sheet in a single layer. Bake for 20-30 minutes, or until rounds are slightly browned and crispy, turning once half way through. Keep an eye on them the last 5-10 minutes of cooking time–small pieces may need to be removed before the rest to avoid burning!

5) Remove from oven and move sweet potatoes closer together. Sprinkle with cheeses and return to oven for another 3-4 minutes or until cheeses are melted.
Servings: 4 Nutritional Information per Serving: Calories: 160 Carbs: 19g Fat: 7g Protein: 6g Sugar: 6g Fiber: 3g
WW PointsPlus: 4 Old points: 3

2 thoughts on “Blue Cheese and Cheddar Baked Sweet Potato Rounds

  1. Sweet potatoes… cheese… salt.. Perfect!! This sounds absolutely delicious and right up my alley!! I haven’t had nachos in Forever, can’t wait!!

Leave a Reply

