One Minute Homemade Pie Crust

An easy, quick way to make homemade pie crust. It’s my go-to for every pie, including my family’s favorite: apple!
IMG_1488

Making homemade pie crust seems to intimidate many home bakers. I, too, used to be one who never thought I could (or wanted to) make my own pie crust. “What’s wrong with the frozen one from Pillsbury?”, I used to think to myself. That all changed the first time I had homemade pie crust (and looked at the ingredients list…see below). Y’all, it seriously makes all the difference in the world as to the result of your final pie. It takes a good pie and makes it something special. And really, if you’re going to go through the trouble of making a pie, it is not that much more work to put together a pie crust from scratch. Especially if you use this one minute recipe!

IMG_20130720_120921

When I first started making pie crusts, I did it the old fashioned way: by hand. Cutting the butter into flour without even a pastry blender was a little tricky. Eventually I bought a pastry blender, and at the time I thought it made it immensely easier. You know what can take it from easier to just plain easy?

A food processor.

Yes, the food processor does all the work for you in this recipe.  Just a few simple ingredients and pulses of the food processor and you can have ready-to-roll out pie crust in 60 seconds!! Let’s look at the ingredients found in Pillsbury pre-made crusts, and then tell me if you have 60 extra seconds to spare to make your own:

No thank you! We can all agree that pie is not the healthiest thing to eat, but I figure if I’m going to eat pie (which does not happen often), I would rather put in the extra minute to make it homemade with real ingredients!

And, in case the food processor trick is not enough of a delightful kitchen tip, I have another one to share. Have you ever had pie crust stick to your rolling pin when trying to roll it? It is highly annoying, and could potentially turn any baker away from making their own pastry. To remedy this problem, simply roll your pie dough in-between two sheets of plastic wrap!! It prevents the dough from sticking every time.

IMG_20130720_120431

Once you have refrigerated and rolled out your pie crust, you can decide how you would like to form it. I always love the classic look of pinched edges and a lattice crust, but you can be creative! Remember, rustic is okay here: you want your pie to look homemade!

IMG_20130720_120937

I wanted to share this special recipe with you before the holidays come to hopefully inspire you to make your pie crust in lieu of purchasing one for all of your autumnal/holiday baking. And, in case you didn’t know, it’s currently apple picking season!

IMG_1493

This recipe makes a single crust (with some leftover). If you are going to make a double crust pie, you must double the recipe!

One Minute Homemade Pie Crust

Ingredients:

  • 1-3/4 cup all-purpose flour  (about 9 ounces)
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1-1/2 sticks butter (12 tablespoons), cut into slices
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp ice water (approximately)

1) Place flour and sugar in a food processor.  Pulse.

2) Add about half of the butter. Pulse.  Add the rest of the butter. Pulse until the mixture turns into coarse crumbs.

3) Through the feed tube, slowly add the ice water and pulse until the dough gathers up into a ball.  If it doesn’t after a few seconds, add a few more drops of ice water until it does.

4) Take the dough and flatten it into a disc and place it on a sheet of floured plastic wrap. Refrigerate for about 30 minutes before rolling. Remember to use the plastic wrap trick from above!

Happy baking!!IMG_20121027_143906

Recipe adapted from: http://theitaliandishblog.com/imported-20090913150324/2011/9/9/you-will-make-homemade-one-minute-pie-dough-and-raspberry-pi.html

108 thoughts on “One Minute Homemade Pie Crust

  1. Pingback: Perfect Apple Pie Recipe – Life of a Mama Bear

  2. Love to try this recipe out! This will be my first attempt at making apple pie. Do I need to bake the crust before adding the apple filling?

  3. Pingback: Apple Pie

  4. Oh My Gosh! Love this recipe! I have been making desserts for 3 years, pie crust is the worst, I have always just bought store crust already to put the pan. I tried this recipe and I will never do store bought again. Thank You so much for sharing this.

Leave a comment