Parmesan Upside Down Baked Potatoes

photo-1

Pinterest inspired me to make this recipe and it did not disappoint!

First let me say, I wouldn’t endorse making these potatoes every day, but I was looking for an interesting side dish to accompany a steak dinner I had planned for my husband upon his return from a business trip. He can devour a steak!

photo

These potatoes tasted like a baked potato with the toppings infused because they literally bake into the potato. They are easy to make and a great switch up to a regular baked potato! All you have to do is melt butter in a glass pan, top with shredded parmesan cheese, salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Then you cut your potatoes in half and lay them face down on top of the parmesan. You can season the other side of the potato, too.

photo-2

I love how unique these potatoes are in both taste and appearance!

The original recipe called for 1/4 cup of butter, but that seemed like way too much. 3 tablespoons is plenty, and next time I might try them with just 2 and see if that works! If I had fresh rosemary on hand I would definitely add that too!

Parmesan Upside Down Baked Potatoes

Ingredients:

  • 7 red potatoes, washed and cut in half
  • 2-3 tablespoons butter
  • 6 tablespoons shredded parmesan cheese
  • garlic powder
  • sea salt
  • freshly cracked pepper

1). Preheat oven to 400F. Melt butter in the bottom of a 9×13 glass pan.

2). Sprinkle parmesan cheese and seasonings over butter. Place potatoes cut side down and sprinkle more seasonings on top of potatoes.

3). Bake for 40-45 minutes or until cooked through. Allow to cool in the pan for 5 minutes before serving.

Servings 14 (1 half per person). Nutritional Information: Calories: 112 Fat: 4g Carbs: 17g Protein: 3g Sodium: 180g

Recipe adapted from: http://www.favfamilyrecipes.com/2012/03/parmesan-baked-potato-halves.html

39 thoughts on “Parmesan Upside Down Baked Potatoes

  1. Hi Audrey! My readers just loved this! I wanted to stop by and thank you! I found the recipe on another website, so I didn’t know where it originally came from. I added links to your website this morning… and a note to readers to stop by and see you, sweet lady! Thanks again!

  2. We loved your recipe. Unfortunately my husband found it on a site with your whole recipe copied. Maybe you approved it. It is a facebook page Shredding with Tammy and one of her followers in the group reposted. That is how he saw it. My husband loved it (I am vegan so I didn’t have your final recipe – great concept) Thank you, Ginny McMeans veganinthefreezer.com (My husband is not a vegan so we have a variety of meals in our house, hee.)

    • Thank you so much Ginny!! I’m so glad your husband enjoyed it! Thank you also for letting me know about the Facebook post–I didn’t approve it. I’m so glad you found the blog anyway and stopped by! My brother-in-law is vegan so I will be sure to check out your blog too 🙂

  3. did you use fresh grated parmesan or the parmesan in the plastic container? I know that freshly grated always tastes best, but sometimes the prepackaged works better in a recipe.

    • Hi Susan! Either one should work but I used fresh! I have also made this with shredded parmesan instead of grated and that worked great too. Let me know if you try it! 🙂

  4. The potatoes turned out great but the cheese got hard on the cool down, next time I will cook the potatoes part way through then put them on the cheese to finish the yummy goodness.

  5. Pingback: 8 Lbs. Later……….. | Life in a Blender...

  6. SO yummy!!!! I made them this week and had to share your recipe with my followers! My daughter asked if I would put bacon in next time (she is wise beyond her ten years). Have you tried it with bacon????

    • I am soooo happy you loved it!! I have never tried it with bacon (we just never have any) but I can see how that would be extra delicious! Looks like your daughter might be a great little sous chef 🙂

  7. I made these tonight as part of a Pinterest meal blog post. They were very good. I added the rosemary, which is a favorite of mine with potatoes. Thanks!

  8. Didn’t have shredded Parmesan in the house so I tried sharp Cheddar instead. The potatoes were nice and soft like a baked potato should be but the cheese just hardened into an almost burnt mess. Was it the cheese’s “fault” ? I followed the instructions for everything else so I really don’t know what went wrong!!

    • Hi there! I have not tried it with cheddar cheese, but I would not recommend substituting it for the parmesan. In this recipe, the parmesan is a key player. Parmesan cheese is a slower-melting cheese due to its higher protein content than the cheddar cheese–I believe this explains what happened to you. I’m so sorry it didn’t turn out well with that substitution! Thanks for commenting, and please give it a try with regular parmesan next time!

  9. Pingback: The Best of Audrey’s Apron in 2013: The 10 Most Popular Recipes! | Audrey's Apron

  10. Pingback: Gin Marinated Potatoes - Dirty Gourmet

  11. I didn’t have any shredded parm on hand, so I decided to use grated parm along with leftover baked potatoes to make you your recipe. It was absolutely delicious and the Kids loved it too, so that’s always a plus. Loved it!

  12. Pingback: Crispy Parmesan Roasted Potatoes. | Audrey's Apron

  13. Pingback: The Best of Audrey’s Apron in 2014: The 10 Most Popular Recipes! | Audrey's Apron

  14. Pingback: Cheesy Upside Down Potatoes | Rebekah and her Ramblings

  15. Tried these tonight! Awesome! Saw another comment about bacon, so I put a little slice of bacon on top of the skin side. And, used crushed garlic cloves (I was out of garlic powder). Hubby loves it! Thank you sharing.

  16. HI there – I grew up with my father making these potatoes. (He called them “okie” potatoes) Thank you for your post as I never knew the temp to cook them at and how long to cook them. Oh and we use any type of potato and none ever tasted bad!

  17. This recipe is all over the internet. I don’t know how anyone could lay claim to the original recipe. My friend has been making these for a couple of years.
    That being said, I’ve made them often and they’re great left-over. I made them into potato salad and it was amazing.

  18. Just made these with our supper of Chicken Maple-Dijon! It was so good!! Hoping there will be some leftover for lunch but not holding my breath!!

  19. Pingback: Parmesan Upside Down Baked Potatoes – Collector of Recipes

  20. My late ex-MIL used to bake chicken in this combination of ingredients, and would add the potatoes to make the main dish. It was always delicious, and my FIL requested it often. That was back in the mid and late 1970’s, so I know the recipe has been around for a very long time. Of course, Ma-in-law was from the Deep South, so knew a whole lot of great recipes from her upbringing 🙂

  21. Pingback: Upside Down Parmesan Potatoes | hungry one (of a hungry ton)

  22. My family LOVES these potatoes! We add a shake of garlic herb seasoning on top of the parmesan for additional flavor, but they are good without it too. Thanks for a great side dish!

  23. These potatoes were so delicious! Crispy on top and creamy under! I served them with filet mignon, sauteed mushrooms and onions and creamed spinach. What a winning dinner!

Leave a comment