Paleo Coconut Flour Pancakes.

This healthier take on pancakes using coconut flour, applesauce, coconut oil, and eggs will get your day started on the right track!

IMG_1960

Good morning! Grab a seat and settle in for some pancake stories.

Growing up, pancakes were my favorite breakfast treat. My mom would make them on Saturday mornings occasionally and I promise nothing got me out of bed faster than the smell of fresh pancakes!

Unfortunately, there’s not much going on nutrition-wise in traditional pancakes, so I’ve been on the hunt for a healthier pancake for a while. I also needed to find a substitute for flour to keep them gluten free.
That’s where these Coconut Flour Pancakes come in!

IMG_1972

The first time I had these were with some friends on a ski trip. One of my good friends made these for us one snowy morning and I was so impressed with how delicious (and filling!) they were! Unlike old-school pancakes, these will actually fill you up and keep you full for hours thanks to fiber-filled coconut flour and a good protein-fat ratio from eggs. Yup, there are 5 eggs in these pancakes!

Let’s talk texture. These pancakes are soft and somewhat spongy, but in a good way. They’ll soak up whatever oil (coconut oil or butter) you use to cook them in, and whatever topping you choose to add. I’m somewhat of a pancake purist when it comes to toppings: just real maple syrup, please!
But honestly? Can I tell you a secret??
I think they’re pretty good plain.
When we were skiing, I ate some leftover for lunch on the slope and thought they were just fine the way they were!

IMG_1957
One last little trick: coconut flour requires a few minutes of rest so it can soak in some of the moisture of the batter. 5 minutes is all you’ll need. I whipped these up in my Vitamix in no time. The time-consuming part is cooking all the pancakes! Don’t forget, if you need to keep them warm while you finish cooking all the pancakes, put the ones that are ready in the oven on low, covered with a damp towel. The damp towel will help keep them from drying out in the oven!

I hope you make these Coconut Flour Pancakes for your family soon! One batch makes abouttttt 12-14 pancakes depending on what size you make them. Enjoy!

Coconut Flour Pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 5 eggs
  • 1 cup all-natural applesauce
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup melted coconut oil or butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • add-ins like bananas, blueberries, chocolate chips (optional)

1). In a blender, combine all of the ingredients except for the optional add-ins. Let the batter sit for 5 minutes to thicken.

2). Heat a large skillet (or pancake griddle) to medium heat. Add a small amount of coconut oil or butter to the skillet or griddle. Use a 1/4 cup measuring cup to drop the batter. Do not overfill. Let the pancakes cook for 2-3 minutes per side. These pancakes take a little bit longer than traditional pancakes, so be patient and keep an eye on them. You probably won’t see a lot of bubbles on the surface like you would with regular pancakes. Don’t rush them too much!

3). Top with whatever toppings you’d like and enjoy!

Yield: 12-14 pancakes. (I got 13) Approximate Nutritional per Pancake: Calories: 110 Carbs: 7g Fat: 7g Protein: 3g Fiber: 2g P+:3 Recipe adapted from here.

12 thoughts on “Paleo Coconut Flour Pancakes.

  1. These look great! I can’t wait to try them out. Now, with all these summer veggies coming in I can’t wait to see your take on some yummy, summery Spanish recipes for gazpacho, sangria, etc! I just harvested a lot of yummy looking tomatoes and am going to make some delicious gazpacho soon. So excited!!!!

  2. Pingback: Coconut Flour Pancakes | Champion Recipes

  3. Pingback: The 15 Best Paleo Coconut Flour Pancake Recipes - My Natural Family

  4. Yum! My husband and I both have autoimmune disorders and have been trying to find compliant and delicious recipes. Just tried this for me and my skeptical husband. Paired with strawberry sauce (frozen strawberries in the microwave for 2 min) – absolutely delicious! Husband approved!

  5. Pingback: 35 Paleo Family Style Dishes Everyone Will Love | Paleo Grubs

  6. Pingback: 31 Paleo Coconut Flour Recipes (Pancakes, Cookies and More) | Viral Media

  7. Pingback: 31 Paleo Coconut Flour Recipes (Pancakes, Cookies and More) – electricdiet

  8. Pingback: 31 Paleo Coconut Flour Recipes (Pancakes, Cookies and More)

  9. Pingback: 36 Paleo Coconut Flour Pancakes for a Low Carb Breakfast - Paleo Grubs

Leave a comment