The Best Apple Pie EVER.

*Edited November 2014-Got a new camera and updated pictures!

First of all, I am so sorry for the lack of posts!! The past month has been a whirlwind, and I have so many recipes to share with you. Since Christmas is next week, I’m going to post some of my favorite sweet treats in the next few days. Get ready!

IMG_1488

Here is the first installment of such posts: the best apple pie ever. Declaring a recipe as “the best ever” is a bold statement. I don’t take it lightly or use it often. I’ve made this pie over and over again, and each time the friends and family I share it with agree that it is the best apple pie. So, dear readers, today I’m going to share how to make this holiday staple!

IMG_20131128_111825540_HDR

So, what makes this apple pie so special? Let’s take a look at some key ingredients. The type of apple you use does make a difference. I use granny smith, but I’ve successfully made it with other varieties. As long as you choose a hard, tart apple, the end result will be delicious. Honeycrisp apples are great for baking as well.

IMG_1493

 

The apples are tossed in an incredible mixture of butter and sugar which you boil on the stove, creating a caramel-like sauce. Cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla flavor this filling as well. I like to reserve about 1/3 of a cup of this filling to brush on top of the pie crust. With this trick, the top layer of pie crust becomes flavorful, sweet, and turns a beautiful golden-brown color.

IMG_20131128_154417305_HDRIMG_20131128_154350814_HDR

Making homemade pie crust, in my opinion, is non-negotiable. I made two batches of my one minute homemade pie crust in the food processor. It only takes a few extra minutes to make your own, but the difference in flavor is undeniable.

IMG_20131128_154328138_HDR

No, this is not a “healthified” recipe. Yes, there is a LOT of butter and sugar. It’s a recipe I only make once, maybe twice, a year to share with family and friends on holidays, and I don’t cut any corners on it. Look no further for the best apple pie recipe ever–this is it!

The Best Apple Pie Ever

Ingredients:

  • 2 batches of my one minute homemade pie crust (or 1 if you roll it out very thinly!)
  • 7-8 small granny smith apples, peeled, sliced, and cored
  • 1 stick butter
  • 3 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 heaping tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp vanilla

1). Place the peeled, cored, and sliced apples in a large bowl. Set aside.

2). Preheat oven to 425F.

3). In a medium sauce pan, melt butter over medium heat. Add the 3 tbsp of flour and mix well, forming a paste. Add the water, sugars, cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla and mix well. Bring to a boil for 1 minute, then reduce heat to a simmer for an additional minute.

4). Remove from heat and reserve about 1/3 cup of filling for pie crust. Add remaining filling to apples. Toss well.

5). Pour apples into prepared pie crust, mounding slightly. Top with second pie crust (lattice design, etc). Brush the remaining 1/3 cup caramel filling over the crust.

6). Cover the pie loosely with aluminum foil. I lightly spray the foil so it does not stick to the pie. Place the pie on top of a cookie sheet (to catch any drips) and bake at 425F for 10-12 minutes. Reduce the heat to 350F and bake for another 50 minutes (remove the foil the last 10 minutes to let the crust brown), or until done.  The pie is done when the crust is golden-brown and the apples are soft when pierced with a fork.

7). Allow the pie to cool before serving. Enjoy!

Serves: 8-10 people.

Recipe adapted from: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Apple-Pie-by-Grandma-Ople/. 

Adapted recipe courtesy of Audrey’s Apron.

269 thoughts on “The Best Apple Pie EVER.

  1. Pingback: 9 Apple Pie Desserts That Are So Good You'll Want to Skip Dinner

  2. Pingback: 15 Fall Dessert Recipes - My Life and Kids

  3. I made this tonight for the first time and it is wonderful!! Not overly sweet it was perfect, it also was not a sloppy mess but was not dry at all, very juicy! It’s a keeper!! Thanks❤️

    • Hi Pattie. Do you think dicing the apples instead of slicing and coring would affect anything? I’ll bé making this pie for Thanksgiving and I prefer the apples to be diced. Thanks.🙂

      • The only thing it might affect is the cooking time. Since the apples will be thicker, it might take an extra 10 minutes or so for them to cook. BUT I don’t know that for a fact. I’d check them after the time written in the recipe by seeing if they are easily pierced with a fork. Then check again every 10 minutes. Let me know how it goes!

  4. I just made this for thanksgiving dinner. It turned out amazing! The filling is so tasty and the crust was super flaky. I’ve always had trouble making pie crust by hand because i end up handling it too much and melting the butter. The food processor was brilliant!! The only thing I made a mistake on was doubling the recipe for the double crust. It ended up being a bit to much dough for my food processor so next time I will just make two single recipes!
    Thanks so much, this is definitely a keeper!

  5. I’m wondering what I did wrong. I followed the recipe to a t, and while the pie tasted lovely, the filling was extremely runny. My crust is literally swimming in juice. Any suggestions?

  6. This was so good. However, I cut corners and bought the store bought ready made pie dough, which felt super thin. So I’ll have to try your recipe for your pie crust. This is a keeper, without a doubt. Everyone loved it. Thanks

  7. Pingback: Orchard- Family Sessions | Kara Hanes Photography Blog

  8. I tried several apple pie recipes before finding this one on Pinterest. The first time I made it, I was so happy with the results. I just made this for the second time and am equally as pleased. It’s easy to make, tastes amazing, and the recipe is easy to follow..
    Thank you for sharing this ……

  9. I followed the instructions to a T and mine just turned out horrible. While tasty, it left a liquid in the bottom of the pan. I figured it would set after cooling in the fridge, but a day later and I’m still left with apple cinnamon soup.

  10. Pingback: Caramel Apple Pie | Ginger And Oregano

  11. I have made this pie from this recipe several times! My dad RAVED about it at Thanksgiving last year. I tried to make it again today, and something is going wrong! My Caramel sauce keeps “breaking”. Instead of the smooth glossy sauce it usually is, its all grainy and separated. I tried it twice (once with sugar substitute since I was attempting to make a sugar free version for my grandmother). I thought the first time it failed that it was the Splenda’s fault. So I made it again with real sugar, and same issue. What is happening?

    • Hmmm, grainy and separated?? I’m trying to picture that. I have had the butter separate from it before but I believe that was due to letting it cook too long. Even when that happened, it essentially fixed itself during the baking process and the end result was the same. That makes me think maybe you could go ahead and bake it. I’m sorry you’re having trouble this time around!

  12. My sauce was extremely thick and wouldn’t coat the apples well. Since it was so thick it also wouldn’t really brush on the top… It ended up pretty ugly😦 Did I cook the sauce too long?

  13. My crust is super soggy on the inside. I’ve heard if you bake the crust for a few minutes with pie weights prior to adding the filing it would help reduce soginess. Would this hold true for your recipe?

  14. Hi just made it today and it is AMAZING
    Had some difficulty to make the pattern of the upper crust like in your picture – any tip for this?

    • Thrilled you loved it!
      I understand your struggle–The first time I ever attempted a lattice crust I had to look up how to do it! You should be able to find a video or step by step picture directions with a quick Google search.🙂

  15. Pingback: 5 Good Things (…in the wake of today’s insanity) « Covet Living

  16. Pingback: Fall is for Apples - the Story of a Bushel!

  17. Pingback: The Hopefuls + All-American Apple Pie – the hungry bookworm

  18. Pingback: 50 Thanksgiving Pies - One Thousand Oaks

  19. Pingback: 5 Thanksgiving Recipes Worth Sharing - Sage Fruit

  20. I made this yesterday, and got upset when I tried making the paste, 3xs and all times the butter would burn, irregardless of the lower temp and whisking I was doing.. I had to go to plan B and flour my apples and use your cinnamon mixture.. I hope it comes out good 😔

    • Sorry you had trouble, Stacey. I’ve never had the butter burn! My guess is you must have kept it on there too long. It really only needs a minute after you add all the ingredients for it to come together. It won’t be a very thick paste.

  21. This will be the 4th time I’m making this pie. It was a huge hit last Thanksgiving and Christmas. It’s my absolute favorite and I never want to share it with anyone. I’ve had a couple fail moments and had to start over but I’ve got it figured out now. Woo. I’m more excited for this pie than the turkey. Lol. I actually have to start baking this later today.

    • I’ve never tried it so I honestly just don’t know for sure. I make the entire pie the day before I plan to serve it because it actually holds its shape better that way. Hope that helps!

      • Audrey, Do you bake it and all? How do you re- heat it? I’m making this now for tomorrow. Thank you for a great recipe! Just finished the sauce and it smells divine!

  22. Hi Audrey! I’m just getting into baking and I’m going to try and do this for the first time tomorrow at Thanksgiving. Would it be ok if I used a blender? I sadly don’t have a food processor, and I’m not sure if it would work the same. Thanks in advance!🙂

  23. Thank you for the wonderful recipe! I had trouble getting my paste to thicken so I had to add a bit more flour and heat it a bit longer, but otherwise it turned out great! I can’t wait to share it with family!

  24. I made this pie today for Thanksgiving and it was AMAZING! I believe this may have been the first homemade apple pie I have ever made. It was by far the BEST I have ever eaten. I will be making this recipe again! Thank you!🙂

  25. Soooo good!!! Thanks. If someone didn’t like this recipe they couldn’t have made it right. Had people fighting over the last piece.

  26. Made this pie for Thanksgiving 2016, and it came out wonderfully! I have never made pie. I was so anxious to have my first time be for such a big family gathering but this turned out great! I made it (baked and all) the night before and left it at room temp. I made no alterations to the recipe and used Audrey’s recommended homemade pie crust. The apples still had a slight firmness to them without being crunchy. It was also perfectly seasoned- not too sweet or spicy (due to cinnamon, nutmeg etc.) The pie was served the following evening and I got plenty of compliments. Thank you for an awesome recipe, I will definitely be making this again!

  27. My husband is obsessed with this pie!! I made it for Thanksgiving and within 2 days he wanted me to make it again.😊 The tittle doesn’t lie. Seriously the best apple pie we’ve ever eaten. And it’s not too difficult! Not going to lie….I did use store bought pie crust to save time but still turned out amazing! Thank you for sharing!

  28. Have you ever tried bottling or canning the filing? Did it work? I must apologize, when i first saw your pictures, i thought: “but it looks so dry. . . ” after reading some of the comments, i decided it was worth the risk. It was the first pie gone from our thanksgiving dinner. Every one raved. Thanks for sharing. I’m so glad i was wrong. As beautiful as your photos are, nothing could do this pie justice. Thanks again.

  29. Have made this pie for several people and all have said it is the best apple pie they ever ate, I Love It. And the crust is very flaky. Just got done making it again to take to my daughters[ Moods Of Christmas] performance to be served during intermission.I always enter baked goods in the fair,but until this year never made pies and to come in 2nd was great and I used the pie crust recipe for other pies and they also placed 1st and 2nd it was very easy to make and my daughter takes the extra filling to practice with her, because it is just that good tasting, and all her friends want it and they’re teenagers, so if my daughters cheer squad fight over it you know it has to be good because they’re always dieting and there are loads of calories in it but they still fight over it.

Leave a Reply

